Life

It’s #SelfLoveSeason Y’all

flower-367857_1280

Hey loves! It’s March and we’re on the horizon of my favorite seasons, Spring and Summer. I love the warm weather, sunny skies, and bright colors… oh, and my birthday’s in July! Spring and Summer signify happiness, in my opinion.

One of the positives, but also negatives, of this time of year is that everything starts to slllooowww dowwwnnn. The days get longer, school winds down, and for me personally, work slows down as well. This leaves a lot more free time on my hands than usual. As someone whose life pretty much revolves around work and school, it’s easy for me to get bored and start questioning who I am outside of my accomplishments.

This year I’ve decided to dedicate spring and summer to finding new hobbies and activities I enjoy, and getting rid of some of the meaningless, time-wasting activities I participate in way too much. Sooo, I’m dubbing this time of yearย #SelfLoveSeason.

One of the activities(or should I say addictions) I’ve decided I need to cut wayyy back on is social media. Social media is the biggest waste of time. I start my day by scrolling through all my social media timelines and before I know it an hour or two have passed and I’m still in bed. I’m rarely even talking to anyone(except on twitter… hit me up) and I’m getting absolutely nothing out of what I’m reading/watching 95% of the time. It’s just a way to pass time and be nosey to see what drama is going on in ex-classmates’ lives.

So instead of scrolling aimlessly through my phone all spring and summer, I’ve decided to start doing more meaningful activities that will help me grow as a person, as well as make me more active:

  1. Read moreย – I’ve started reading a lot more recently. This is gonna come as a shock to any of my friends and family that are reading this, because I’ve honestly hated reading all my life, but I discovered motivational/self-help books and they actually keep my interest. They give me motivation for my day and also teach me things.
  2. Work out – It almost sickens me to write this, because I really enjoy just sitting on my ass, but I started working out again about 2 weeks ago. One of my best friends, Sam(who y’all have seen in some of my vlogs) and I joined a gym and we’ve been working out together 3 days a week. I’ve gotta admit that working out with a friend makes it so much more fun. I actually look forward to going to the gym now!
  3. Find new hobbies – Outside of work and school, I really have no hobbies. I’m going toย try different activities to hopefully find some I really enjoy and want to continue. The first on my list to try is a local jewelry making class.

Happy #SelfLoveSeason!!

24 thoughts on “It’s #SelfLoveSeason Y’all

  1. I have to agree I spend too much time seeing what other people are doing on social media and get easily distracted when I am trying to write!! I like to exercise and try to fit that in daily. I also try and read for a bit before I go to bed to try and relax my mind after an evening on the computer!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely agree with you on this, I have had to teach myself not to reach for my phone first thing in the morning. I am trying to workout more in the morning before I can procrastinate and put it off haha. What books are you currently reading?x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just finished “Unlimited: A Three Step Plan for Achieving Your Dreams” by Jillian Michaels and now I’m reading “Men Are From Mars Women Are From Venus”. And yeah, I use my phone as my alarm clock so it makes it hard to not get on it first thing in the morning when its the first thing I pick up lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I felt like you talking to me , like I spend most of my time on my couch eating watching TV and of course social media , I’m always there … Reading crazy things like literary the whole day

    I once tried the gym but agg I got bored … But thanks hey I’ll definitely try to do something good with my time

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice read! Spring and summer are great seasons to be out and about engaging in new things ๐Ÿ˜ƒGlad to hear you are finding better ways to invest your time! I have been in the process of doing the same and recently realized something similar to you! Outside of work I really didn’t have much, I had no real hobbies or activities I loved so! I got to it and started yoga ๐Ÿ™‚Which has been a great and new experience. I hope you find some fun things to do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

