Life

I Dare You To Be Body Confident

Welcome, welcome to the conversation!

I first and foremost want to thank Morgan for featuring me at Her vs. World!

Today, I want to present something to you that might be a little more… edgy and direct than my usual style – we’ll see how it goes.

So in that case, I’ll take a minute to introduce myself:

nisaa

Hi, I go by Nisaa, better known as the founder of a blog called Down Deep.

I’m your average high school liberalist.

My dream schools are NYU, Colombia Uni, U of Miami, and the “Berk.”

I’m slightly more anti-social than people would normally assume by my personality.

I ask lots of questions.

I work like 3 jobs… in school full time, and I’m somehow still breathing.

Down Deep is my favorite thing to do on my free time. That and web surf Instagram feeds.

Oh and one last thing that this article will actually be about–I hate body shaming. Hate it.

With that said, I’m sure you can judge by your observations that I am most definitely dynamic, not at all complex. I’m full of candid dreams and simple requirements – nothing much to see here. But today I kind of want to hone in on the last quirk about me. Especially with the situation of a new leader in town and the presence of one of the most sacred (or simply recognized) months in black history, it’s an important thing to highlight and discuss.

Knowing myself, I am aware that this is an issue that I happen to belabor at an abnormally-constant rate. So. Instead of just writing an 8 page lecture about the importance of body confidence, I’ll make a list of 5 Thoughts I dare you to think regarding body-power and body-recognition. Enjoy!

  1. My body is my own. Not to be shamed, compared with, envied, categorized, represented, nor degraded.

Every women today does not recognize that their body is a paradise. A heaven for the children, a source of pleasure for themselves and for their partners, may they choose to engage with one. Euro-centric beauty standards have become an uncomfortable counter-reflection in the mirrors of colored boys and girls. Thankfully, pop culture is starting to recognize the rainbow true to the spectrum of beauty and acknowledgement.

woman-1702957_640

  1. My body is a garb of royalty – to be adorned, adored, and acknowledged.

Body empowerment has become such a socio-political topic in media when, with all due respect, it’s my shit to comment on and my shit only. Too thin? Next. Too thick? Try again. And personally, I don’t subscribe to these standards. We women have to take responsibility of clarifying societies place in terms of their say on our bodies. We want to blame media for our lack of empowerment and we have all rights to, but at the same time proactivity is the only method towards progress. Take a stand and be about it!

  1. My body is merely perceived as a perspective; it is crucial to realize that, regarding judgment, what is good is true in my book. And what is bad is… well, propaganda.

Body confidence is all about knowing that you are all you have to offer and being sure that this will always be enough. Taking ownership of your bid to the world is how we can maintain a positive ecosystem rid of body shaming. As cliché as it sounds, the haters are GONNA hate. What else can we do but turn a cheek and tell them to kiss it?

denim-1839955_640

  1. Blemishes? Imperfections? whAT ERR THOOOOSSEEE?

Flaws are not flaws as much as they are distinctions. While you’ll find me preaching about inner beauty constantly, I will always advocate for conjuring your inner Beyoncé strut and working it in the faces of all those who told you that you couldn’t. Admire the unique assets custom-flaunted by the one and only You.

  1. My body is the business and I am the BOSS, running this enterprise since day 1. As any business does, mine has its quirks, but what business has ever thrived and grown from insecurities?

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never met a CEO that didn’t know how to take a compliment. I know I’m sort of belaboring it, but… OWNERSHIP, ACKOWLEDGEMENT, AND CONFIDENCE! Women today have to learn how to remember the women they wanted to be when they were younger… and then BE her with the necessary edits and “glow ups” included. Be a leader for the little girl in you who started believing somewhere along the span of puberty that she wasn’t the shit anymore.

With that said, what are your thoughts on body confidence? Make sure to share them on social media!

P.S. Your “Challenge of the Week” is: Take a bunch of selfies… and actually POST them… EVERYWHERE! #BeBodyConfident

Want to read more from Nisaa? Visit her blog thedowndeep.com and follow her on Instagram and Twitter. Check out part 2 of I Dare You To Be Body Confident written by me over on her blog!
23 thoughts on “I Dare You To Be Body Confident

  1. This is a beautiful post! Body positivity is a problem that I think almost all women struggle with. I have struggled with it, and with loving my body at so many different points in my life. I feel that it is so important to promote body positivity and self love, or else we are going to turn into a society that hates our bodies and is not comfortable in our own skin. Really awesome

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree. Women are actually looked at as weird of “extra” for acknowledging that they look good. We’ve definitely got to switch around this comprehension of self-love and confidence! Thank you so much for reading and check out more at thedowndeep.com !

      Like

    1. Hey Hannah it’s Nisaa. You don’t even understand how much it means to ME that I have the opportunity to impact someone. You are absolutely beautiful never forget it.

      Like

  2. This is a great post! It literally took me over 20 years to become confident in who I am and what I look like. It has been so refreshing and honestly has brought the right people into my life ever since.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

