Life

Don’t Rush Your Life!

I’ve been 24 years old for a little over 48 hours now and it’s still crazy to me that I’m almost in my mid-twenties… What’s even crazier is that, as a kid, I thought by the time I was 24 I would have my life together. Riiight.. I still feel like a kid!

I will give myself credit though– I have set goals I’m working at everyday to try to accomplish(part of the reason I made this blog) and I’ve learned over the past few years that as long as I work hard and believe in myself and my abilities, things will work out.

 

 

I feel like a lot of “twenty-somethings” believe they HAVE to have their life together by a certain age, so they rush things and end up unhappy. I’m sure it’s normal to feel “rushed” at this age, but we really shouldn’t!

My best friend Chelsea and I have this conversation a lot. She’s getting ready to move out of state for the first time for grad school and isn’t 100% sure she’s gonna like the area of study she’s going for. She’s worried about that and also feeling behind, because some of her other friends and I are already working in our career fields. I told her I feel behind too.. Although I’m working in my career field, I’m still in school finishing up my bachelor’s, while the people I graduated high school with got their bachelor’s degrees 2 years ago. My point is we need to stop comparing where we are in life to where other people are in their lives. Everybody has different circumstances. School was a struggle for me growing up and I ended up dropping out of college for a few years before deciding to go back and take it seriously. Chelsea did well in school, so she got into college right away…another reason why she feels she should already have a job in a set career field. I just got lucky that my career field doesn’t require a 4 year degree. Rushing our careers, school, relationships, etc. to catch up with others our age doesn’t do anything except cause us to settle for things we really don’t want.(Sidenote: Try not to pay attention to the fake little happy personas people use on social media, because most of the time it’s not what it seems.) Take your time, work your ass off, and wait for the right opportunities for YOU.

doyou

16 thoughts on “Don’t Rush Your Life!

  1. Turning 25 in a few days and still feel like I’m a teenager. haha thanks for stopping by Morgan! followed you back and looking forward to reading more of your posts! See you around and Happy Belated Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve learned over the past few years that as long as I work hard and believe in myself and my abilities, things will work out. Forget the naysayers!!
    one of the best lesson you have learned in your life and thanks for sharing it with all of us………

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi,
    I think I know Swajithkas.
    I know Danny Ray. I met you on his site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger. I was his featured blog or two. Maybe you can check out my site if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I blog about.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

